Searching in values of a redis db

こ雲淡風輕ζ 提交于 2019-11-27 21:36:10

问题

I am a novice in using Redis DB. After reading some of the documentation and looking into some of the examples on the Internet and also scanning stackoverflow.com, I can see that Redis is very fast, scales well but this costs the price that we have to think out how our data will be accessed at the design time and what operations they will have to undergo. This I can understand but I am a little confused about searching in the data what was so easy, however slow, with the plain old SQL. I could do it in one way with the KEY command but it is an O(N) operation and not O(log(N)). So I would lose one of the advantages of Redis.

What do more experienced colleagues say here?

Let's take an example use case: we have need to store personal data for approx. 100.000 people and those data need to be searched by name, phone nr.

For this I would use the following structures:

1. SET for storing all persons' ids {id1, id2, ...} 
2. HASH for each person to store personal data and name it 
like map:<id> e.g. map:id1{name:<name>, phone:<number>, etc...}

Solution 1:

1. HASH for storing all persons' ids but the key should be the phone number
2. Then with the command KEY 123* all ids could be retrieved who have a phone number 
sarting with 123. On basis of the ids also the other personal data could be retrieved.
3. So forth for each data to be searched for a separate HASH should be created.

But a major drawback of this solution is that the attribute values must also be unique, so that the assigment of the phone number and the ids in the HASH would be unambiguous. On the other hand, O(N) runtime is not ideal.

Moreover, this uses more space than would be necessary and the KEY command deteriorates the access performance. (http://redis.io/commands/keys)