Run ExeCommand in customAction as Administrator mode in Wix Installer

江枫思渺然 提交于 2019-11-26 18:17:57

问题

I am new to wix installer. I have developed a set-up using wix installer for my application and I need to execute a Custom Action to run a command in cmd.exe. In XP it works fine. But in Windows 8 & 7 the cmd prompt needs to be run as administrator.

I have googled and found the keywords Elevated Privileges and impersonate might help me.

<Package InstallerVersion="200" Compressed="yes" InstallScope="perMachine"   InstallPrivileges="elevated"></Package>

As you can see above, I used the InstallScope attribute set to perMachine, and I have used Impersonate="No" in the CustomAction element:

<CustomAction Id='comReg' Directory='INSTALLLOCATION'  Impersonate='no'  
  ExeCommand='"[NETFRAMEWORK40CLIENTINSTALLROOTDIR]regasm.exe" "[INSTALLLOCATION]myProduct.dll"  /codebase' Return='check' />

But I didn't get any changes while installating. I need the command prompt to open and run the above command in Administrator Mode.

And can anyone please tell me about these keywords "Elevated Privileges & impersonate"

<InstallExecuteSequence>
  <Custom Action='comReg' After='InstallFinalize'>NOT REMOVE</Custom>
  <Custom Action='comUnreg' Before='RemoveFiles'>REMOVE</Custom>
</InstallExecuteSequence>

How to do it?

回答1:

The wix documentation here explains the Impersonate attribute:

This attribute specifies whether the Windows Installer, which executes as LocalSystem, should impersonate the user context of the installing user when executing this custom action. Typically the value should be 'yes', except when the custom action needs elevated privileges to apply changes to the machine.

You also need to understand the difference between deferred and immediate custom actions. See the Execute attribute on the same help page:

This attribute indicates the scheduling of the custom action. This attribute's value must be one of the following: