Is this the RegEx for matching any cell reference in an Excel formula?

安稳与你 提交于 2019-11-27 08:59:10

jtolle steered me in the right direction. As far as I can tell, this is what I was trying to do. I've been testing and it seems to work.

stringOriginFormula = rangeOrigin.Formula
rangeOrigin.Cut rangeDestination
rangeOrigin.Formula = stringOriginFormula

Thanks jtolle!

Thanks Ben (I'm new to post here, even though Stackoverflow has caught my attention for years for high quality technical stuff, so I'm not sure if I read this page correctly for the author J)

I tried the posted solutions (testing, testing updated, as well as the one using range.precendents (which as correctly pointed, does not cover references to other sheets or other workbooks) and found a minor flaw: the external sheet name is enclosed in 'single quotation marks' only if it is a number; if it contains space (and possibly other characters as Ben (?) listed in the orginal post. with a simple addition to the regEx (opening [) this can be corrected (added "[", see code below). In addition, for my own purpose I converted the sub to a function that will return a comma-separated list with duplicates removed (note, this removes just identical reference notation, not cells that are included in multiple ranges):

Public Function CellReflist(Optional r As Range)  ' single cell
Dim result As Object: Dim testExpression As String: Dim objRegEx As Object
If r Is Nothing Then Set r = ActiveCell ' Cells(1, 2)  ' INPUT THE CELL HERE , e.g.    RANGE("A1")
Set objRegEx = CreateObject("VBScript.RegExp")
objRegEx.IgnoreCase = True: objRegEx.Global = True: objRegEx.Pattern = """.*?"""    ' remove expressions
testExpression = CStr(r.Formula)
testExpression = objRegEx.Replace(testExpression, "")
'objRegEx.Pattern = "(([A-Z])+(\d)+)"  'grab the address

objRegEx.Pattern = "(['\[].*?['!])?([[A-Z0-9_]+[!])?(\$?[A-Z]+\$?(\d)+(:\$?[A-Z]+\$?(\d)+)?|\$?[A-Z]+:\$?[A-Z]+|(\$?[A-Z]+\$?(\d)+))"
If objRegEx.Test(testExpression) Then