What are the differences between 'revert', 'amend,' 'rollback', and 'undo' a commit?

萝らか妹 提交于 2019-11-27 02:41:51

问题

Although I use Git pretty often, I'm still a beginner.

Sometimes, I make a mistake but spot it only after I have committed it. At that point, I usually have to spend a long time on the Internet looking for the command I should use to get rid of it (before pushing).

Every time that happens, I find myself wondering what's the difference between the four terms that I usually come across:

• revert,
  • amend,
  • rollback,
  • undo.

I've that it's finally time to learn those differences once and for all. What are they?

回答1:

The terms revert and amend have a well defined meaning in Git. In contrast, rollback and undo do not have such a well defined meaning, and are open to interpretation.

Reverting a commit...

...means creating (on the current branch) a new commit that applies the inverse changes that another commit introduced. It's the preferred approach for correcting a problem in a repo that has already been shared with others, because it doesn't involve any destruction (i.e. rewriting history).

To revert a commit identified by <commit>, simply run

git revert <commit>

Amending a commit...

...means replacing the "current" commit by a new one that has the same parent(s); more details in How does git commit --amend work, exactly?

Be aware that

• amending a commit that you've already pushed to a shared remote is bad practice, because it's a form of history rewriting (it "deletes" the most recent commit, which your collaborators may have already based their work on);
  • you can only amend the last commit on a given branch; to rewrite older commits, you need to bring out the big guns (e.g. interactive rebase).

To amend a commit, make all the required changes and stage them, then run

git commit --amend