Creating arrays in C++ without knowing the length ahead of time

时光总嘲笑我的痴心妄想 提交于 2019-12-02 03:58:21

问题

I'm working on a small program to help speed up some data analysis for my lab work. It's supposed to read in data from a text file, create a bunch of arrays containing this data and then do some maths.

The problem I keep running into is that I don't know how many lines the original text file will have, so I don't know how big to make my arrays. I'm very new to C++ and right now I don't feel comfortable with dynamically sized arrays, here's a bit of the code

// first determine the length of the file
ifstream dataFile ("xys_data.txt");
const int LENGTH = count(istreambuf_iterator<char>(dataFile), istreambuf_iterator<char>(), '\n'); // counts the number of new lines

// declare vector of type datapoint
dataPoint data[LENGTH];

When I try and compile this i get the error

expected constant expression
cannot allocate an array of constant size 0
'data' : unknown size

But haven't I defined the LENGTH to be constant?

Any help will be appreciated.

EDIT

Following the advice of almost all of you, I have started using std::vector. I have one last issue that I'm a bit shaky on.

In the first attempt at the program I defined a data structure:

struct dataPoint
{
  double x; // x values
  double y; // y values
  double s; // sigma values
};

Then when I read the data from the file, I sent it to this structure like so

while (!dataFile.eof()) // this loop writes out each row of data to the arrays x, y, s until it reaches the end of the file
{ 
  int j = 0;
  dataFile >> data[j].x >> data[j].y >> data[j].s;
  j++;
}

Is there a way I can do this using vectors? My first thought is to define the vectors x, y and s and replace the data[j].x with x in the loop, but this doesn't work.

回答1: